What the F*#! were we thinking? Born in the 80’s!

Just a quick one this…
It occurred to me that if you were born in the eighties (or even the seventies or nineties) some terrible fashion faux pas’ were made in the subsequent 90’s and 00’s.
I thought you’d like reminding you of a few… Or not.

image

What the fuck are these about?

image

And what about high waisted belts for no reason? It was ok to jazz every outfit up with a waist belt.

Katy Perry

image

Quick question… Whoever thought skousers (skirt/trouser combos) were an acceptable invention?

image

Gypsy skirts-FFS

image

Only the All Saints ladies ever really looked cool in combats. Everyone else looked like a dick.

image

What about jeans they were either so flared you tripped up on them or so low everyone could see what you had for dinner… Or worse-BOTH.
I don’t know about you but I just felt inadequate in low jeans- a bit like I was stuffed into a sausage skin. So sly. #Britneygoals

image

image

It was perfectally acceptable to slick your hair back into tight up-do and finish it off with a nice neon scrunchie. Use your brothers gel if need be for that extra smooth finish.
If you were cool as fuck like me you’d pull out two tiny pieces at the front to ‘frame your face’. If your ma’ would let you, you might even have lightened those two bits up with a touch of ‘Sun in’. Incredibly stylish.

image
Julia Stiles rocking the framing strand style of the 90’s nicely here… She could do with more gel and some hair springs but never mind.

Hair mascara… Not much else to say about that is there? Tight though if you were a brunette like me, watching your blonde friends prance about with multicoloured tresses. We all wanted to be Christina. You know it.
In my earlier days I sported a great big fringe, without decent hair straighteners I managed to look like a prize c*** for most of my early teens. All I can say is God bless the invention of the household iron, when I discovered this could tame my hair I literally couldn’t get enough.
The youth of today don’t know they’re born do they?

image

Yep, this was a big thing.
It was even better when you teamed your named hoody coat with some black trousers and some reebok classic double platforms.

image
I had a Fred Perry hoody pouch pocket coat- it was my life during my early teens. Perfect 20:20 sized pocket.

 

Also, my mate had strawberry scented platform reeboks, she was the envy of the whole town.

image

 

If you were going for more of a sporty ‘Sports Casual’ than black trousers you’d 100% throw your poppers on. All the lads would try and rip the poppers open down the park; it was like a teenage game of ‘Kissy Cats’.

image

In the 00’s we’d moved on a bit though hadn’t we? Velour tracksuits were the pinnacle of sports casual sophistication.

image

image

Blue eyeliner and mascara were a must have! You could not been seen without it in the late 90’s.

Glitter eye gel was all the go… Made your eye lids stick to your eyebrows but looked sensational. Stick a couple of gems in the corner of your eye too and you’re eye make up was on fleek.

Dont bother doing your eyebrows or much foundation because this was all you needed to be party-ready.

image

 

Well really you’d need a signet ring, maybe your nanna had bought you one for Christmas? A sovereign ring always went down well with your sports casual look too.
Tooth gems were nice.

image

..or you could even go for a nail piercing.

 

‘Fuck me’ bands were trendy. (Never really knew what it meant if you snapped one!)

image

 

But let’s be honest the main jewellery event for many years was this…

The bigger and brassier the better!

image

For about a year when I was 17- I can confirm that wearing a shirt and tie for a night out was the absolute one. (Just borrow your dads’!)

image

Why cruel world why?!
Can you relate? Can you think of anything else that was all the rage?
Love Amelie X
P.S- come join us on Facebook here

Quotes made using Typorama.

Mumzilla
10 thoughts on “What the F*#! were we thinking? Born in the 80’s!

  1. Oh I made some RIGHT balls ups in the 90s!
    I used a tin of Insette a day to make my fringe stick up and over…WTF?
    I had the hoody and baggy trackie bottoms with purple wallabies combo, keeping it classy.
    I dyed my hair orange at the back and piss yellow at the front a la Geri Halliwell.
    I opted into ‘alternative’ so my gypsy skirts were tie dye with little bells and a faint aroma of patchouli

    I WAS SO TRENDY……

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This. Is. Awesome. But also like a walk through a horror film. I had blotted out memories such as skousers and the ponytail with two bits to frame the face (it ‘softened’ the face apparently). And as for those low slung jeans – ugh. How anyone ever dated in these times, with such horrendous ‘fashions’ is beyond me πŸ˜‰ #chucklemums

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We must be the same age because I lived and breathes every single one of these. I called “fuck me” bands “shag bands” and I pretty much bullied my mum into getting me a pair of Adidas Poppers, then tried to bully her again for a black crewneck Kappa sweater. One thing you missed though was the summer 2001 trend for those weird triangle scarf things that you’d tie around your back, like a neckerchief boob tube. Do you know the ones I mean?! Only for the washboard abs. I.e. not mine. Thanks for linking to #chucklemums xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

